A blog about current Christian songs that have strong, deep lyrics and can be used in contemporary or blended Christian Worship formats.

10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman and Jonas Myrin

Today’s strong worship song is Matt Redman’s 10,000 Reasons. I like this song for several reasons. First and foremost the lyrics give glory to God for His great name and incredible love and faithfulness. Secondly it is hymn-like and very worshipful in nature.  Thirdly, we have had the opportunity to sing this song a few times now in worship and the congregation picked up the lyrics and melody right away. You can tell when people like a new song and this is one of them. Fourthly it is very personal in nature and is written from the perspective of the worshiper to God. It is a simple song, but it appeals to the redeemed to sing praises to the Redeemer. 

Scripture references include Exodus 34:6, Numbers 14:18, Nehemiah 9:17, Psalm 86:15, Psalm 103:8,  Psalm 145:8, Joel 2:13, Jonah 4:2, Nahum 1:3, Psalm 103:1, and Psalm 30:4,

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Chorus

You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great, and Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find

Chorus

And on that day when my strength is failing
The end draws near and my time has come
Still my soul will sing Your praise unending
Ten thousand years and then forevermore

(Chorus x2)

Jesus, I’ll worship Your holy name
Lord, I’ll worship Your holy name

Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name
Jesus, I’ll worship Your holy name
I’ll worship Your holy name

 

One response

  1. I happened to come across your blog and am glad to see that you appreciate contemporary Christian music, as it can be glorifying of God. I am a church musician in our synod and some of the responses towards contemporary Christian music is that it is ALL bad. I agree that there are certain songs that are more practical for congregational worship but certainly as a solo or group piece the songs can be edifying. I can see how this one may be criticized (a bit unfairly) as being too focused on what we do in worship instead of how God comes to us – but I can think of a list of psalms that start similarly. Thank you for staying positive, critically thinking, and sharing the good ones!

    I am a composer and recently started a blog documenting my challenge of writing a hymn every month. I would appreciate your thoughts there! Thank you and blessings on your ministry!

    http://thecozycomposer.wordpress.com/

    September 30, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers